SustainableMamma

12 Book Challenge 2014: A Bedtime Storytime New Year’s Resolution

2 Comments

New Year’s resolutions are fraught with risk. Each year we list all of our shortcomings and each year we realize our shortcomings from last year have mostly stuck around.

However, this year I am going to take a risk and make a reading resolution: 12 chapter books this year! Tenzin and I love bedtime storytime/naptime storytime. Depending on the book, we shoot for a chapter or two at a time.

As we finish each book, I will publish a post about the book and our activities. Find them all at my 12 Book Challenge 2014 page!

Image

I think this resolution will benefit us in many ways. Firstly, I am all about routine. I have noticed that, even if my son is a little wound up in the evening, sticking to our pattern of reading a little before bed calms him and sends him straight to Dreamland. Some people do baths, we do reading!

Secondly, our reading anchors us in conversations throughout the day. We are constantly encountering situations that relate to our readings, whether as a new vocabulary word, a complicated emotion, or an actual object or process. I think reading together strengthens my son’s understanding of the world.

Finally, these readings help me get creative. I’ll be the first to admit that I REALLY am not creative, especially when it comes to making learning fun. However, activity ideas practically glare me in the face when we’re reading.

For example, while driving in the car, we heard how the orphans made Puttanesca Sauce in The Bad Beginning, Book the First of The Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snickett. So, Tenzin helped me find the recipe online, called out the spelling of some of the ingredients for me to write down, and helped me find the ingredients in the grocery store. Of course, he helped me put it together and eat it, too!

Here is a tentative list of the books we will read this year. More than twelve, I know! (Sheesh, once you get me started on books…) These are books I have on my shelf, mostly because I loved them as a child and young person. Some of them my mother read to me!

12 Book Challenge Reading List

  • The Phantom Tollbooth by Norton Juster
  • Now We Are Six by A.A. Milne (Because we’ve already read Winnie the Pooh and The House at Pooh Corner)
  • The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupery
  • Just So Stories by Rudyard Kipling
  • The Extraordinary Adventures of an Ordinary Hat by Wolfram Hanel
  • The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame
  • Mr. Popper’s Penguins by Richard and Florence Atwater
  • Where the Sidewalk Ends by Shel Silverstein
  • Pippi Longstocking by Astrid Lindgren
  • The Arkadians by Lloyd Alexander
  • Linnea in Monet’s Garden by Christina Bjork and Lena Andersen
  • Grimm’s Fairytales
  • Andersen’s Fairytales
  • Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle by Betty MacDonald
  • Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones
  • My Side of the Mountain by Jean Craighead George
  • Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine

Do you have any Reading Resolutions for this year?

Have you and your children encountered some great activities through reading?

If you could add JUST ONE book to my list, what would it be?!?

I can’t wait to hear from you all, and remember that I’ll be keeping you posted about our progressl!

Author: kelsyd

Perhaps, if I unleash my opinionated, passionate perspectives of a world in chaos, I will find a balance. Sustainability and parenting are my two greatest passions and struggles. I hope to communicate with other parents/humans who are striving for enough.

2 thoughts on “12 Book Challenge 2014: A Bedtime Storytime New Year’s Resolution

  1. I posted my personal list in January – http://orthodoxmom3.wordpress.com/2014/01/15/books-books-books-2/
    I like your list! I still read aloud to my 15 year old (LOVE IT)! And I’m looking forward to chapter books again with my toddler in a couple years but am REALLY loving the picture book phase!

    • Nancy Drew was my favorite, too! I think it was during 3rd grade that I went through the series. So great! From your Newberry list, The Giver is definitely a favorite. I love that your “big” still gets reading time with you. Reading with my mom comprised some of our best times. Good luck getting through your reading lists! -KRD

Let's Hear Your Thoughts!

